A new adventure…

So if you follow me on Twitter, you may have noticed I’ve been tweeting recently about my new adventure. Last week I met with my BFF about selling Avon. Believe me, this is something I never thought I would do but so far I am enjoying it. Of course, I have only sold to family members so far but tomorrow morning I have my first meeting with a stranger. Well, my sister knows her so she’s not a complete stranger but is someone I’ve never personally met. It turns out she had been buying perfume from a co-worker of my sister’s and has been looking for someone to buy Avon from soΒ I have an in. πŸ™‚ I’m a bit nervous about it since I’ve always been shy but I think this venture will be good for me. Hopefully it will help me get myself out there, make some extra money (which I desperately need!) and perhaps even make a few new friends. Since this is work I can do from home, I’m stoked. I can still spend a lot of time with my children and maybe eventually write again. Here is my web site if anyone would like to order: youravon.com/amycavenaugh. I promise it’s good stuff. I can’t wait to start trying the products myself! Then I will become an even better salesperson, I’m sure. Since I have a professional background in customer service, I think I can do well. Here’s hoping!

On a completely different topic, in case no one noticed I never got around to writing a blog about the Nashville trip. Sigh. I truly intended to but now it has been over a month since the trip so I guess the Nashville blog was not to be. 😦 I’ll sum it up as best I can: The trip was amazing! I love the city of Nashville and I loved that there was a Starbucks with a kick-ass barista across from our hotel. Meeting New Kids was …. incredible! They are the sweetest guys and always so down-to-Earth. Of course, I was especially impressed with Joe McIntyre, but I always am. πŸ™‚ He has been my favorite since the guys first came back in 2008 and was soooo sweet to me. I don’t know how many times he hugged me but he made me feel pretty awesome. He said he liked my boots, which is funny because I had been doubting my outfit choice. It was hot and I was wearing boots, whichΒ I know is odd but I feel comfortable and good about myself in them. Anyway, Joe always seems to pick up on what I’m insecure about and make me feel like a million bucks. I won’t go into more detail about what he said/did because I don’t like to feel like I’m bragging but if anyone wants to know I’ll tell you. πŸ˜‰ The concert itself was AWESOME! Our seats were on the tip of the “penis stage” and since New Kids are on the main stage the majority of the show, I wasn’t too happy with those seats. Also, if you’ve read my sister’s blog (@abs1399) you know security wouldn’t let us stand at the barricade like all the other sections got to do so it kinda sucked. But the show rocked! Here is our 5* picture with the guys. I wish I hadn’t stood the way I did but the thing was Pennie (@Fan4Ever) & I had decided we were going to ask Joe if we could kiss his cheeks but they called for the picture before we could ask so we both are kinda like “Are we gonna do it?” That’s why we appear to be leaning toward him. LOL I wish we had just asked!

Best 5* Group Ever! Love these girls πŸ™‚

Anyhoo, after the show, we went to the afterparty thrown by Donnie & Jordan, where we had VIP with Jordan. I loved the venue for the afterparty – an Irish pub – my kind of place! Jordan’s VIP was in a back room where it was quiet and relaxed. When we walked in, Jordan was milling around amongst the fans, talking with people. How cool is that? He was very sweet and embarrassed my sister by calling out “ABS!” when he recognized her. It was awesome! When I told him I was her sister, he looked from me to her, his eyes got real big and he exclaimed, “Holy shit!” It was hilarious. πŸ™‚ For more details on Abby’s interaction with him, see her blog. πŸ˜‰ http://myupsndowns.wordpress.com/ I asked him to follow me on Twitter but he hasn’t. 😦 Oh well. I love my picture with him and he was just awesome. His performance on stage with Donnie after our meet & greet was also fantastic.

Can you tell how happy I was to meet Jordan? πŸ˜‰

When we left the afterparty, I pretty much passed out even though we planned to go to Donnie’s Waffle House party. I still feel bad for passing out because I think our friend Amy (@MsKnitSox) really wanted to go but I literally could not get out of the bed once I collapsed. Sorry, Amy! xoxo So that was pretty much the gist of the Nashville trip! I wish that I could remember more details but too much time has passed. 😦

As for my writing (I may as well mention all my usual blogging topics), I have only written about a paragraph in the last few weeks. 😦 Very disappointed in myself. My excuse is I want to spend as much time as possible with my kids. Abby & I drove to Missouri mid-July to pick them up for the summer. We spent a couple of days in Chillicothe, MO (where I lived for 8 years. I had really missed that little town but not realized it) We took them to see Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 2 (OMG! Awesome!!), gone to the swimming pool, went for ice cream, made signs for our NKOTBSB concert together. #goodtimes Then we drove to St Louis for the kids’ first concert. The show itself was probably not quite as good as Nashville but experiencing my kids’ first concert with them was unforgettable. πŸ™‚ They all had such a great time! Even though Adeline fell asleep halfway through, I know she was having a blast. She wore herself out cheering for opening act Midnight Red. πŸ˜‰ How cute is this?

Anyway, it has been extremely difficult to find time for writing with 3 kids in the house, selling Avon and everything else going on in life right now. I don’t know how people with real-world jobs could do it! So if anyone has tips on time management and how I can fit writing in, I’m all ears! I’m SO close to finishing my WIP and want to so badly! Hopefully inspiration will come knocking soon and I will finally be able to end the story and move on to publishing it. Any advice anyone has would be greatly appreciated! OK so this is a very long-winded post! Next time maybe I will blog about my last NKOTBSB concert in Greensboro and finally getting a Twitter follow from @joeymcintyre πŸ˜€ Until then…xoxo

6 thoughts on “A new adventure…

  1. Thanks for sharing your story in Nashville! It’s fun to read your blog. πŸ™‚
    Jordan sounds real nice!! I really want to meet the guys someday…My closest moment to them was when I met them on a bullet train in Japan 22 yrs ago! They just went past by me coz there were a lot of fans on that train. All those girls made a 2 hour trip to a city on that train for two seconds’ glance of New Kids! But I was so happy to see them that close. πŸ™‚ Well,enough about me…
    The pics are so good! I want to hear what else Joe said to you! πŸ˜‰

    I really hope you do very well as a saleslady for Avon. I would never be able to do these kinds of sales. I know I’m very bad at sales. 😦 I wish I could have bought some products from your shop, but I hate using my credit cards…I really wanted to buy something from you, tho. I’m sorry! You sell cosmetics, right?
    For the last, Adeline is so cute!!
    Sorry about my long comment!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚ I didn’t know you came so close to them – things were so crazy then! I will tell you what else Joe said to me later πŸ˜‰ I would love it if you bought some Avon from me – not sure how international orders work. I guess that’s a question for Angi. Yes Avon has comestics, skincare, shampoo/conditioner, even clothes and jewelry. Thanks again! And I love the long comment πŸ™‚ xoxo

  2. Love it! I’m glad i’m not the only onw who’s behind on blogging. I still have to blog ab greensboro. Don’t worry. Every woman deals with time management problems. I can’t imagine, but i bet you can multiply that by each kid too. Love the pics and i want to know every detail about what joe said!! Did you guys have five star in st. Louis too?? Dying ab your pic with jk at the after show. How did he recognize abs?? Great job! Xoxo

    1. I’m way behind on blogging! I was trying to write one once a week & it’s more like once a month! I need to blog about Greensboro too. Ha ha! Both my commenters so far want to know what else Joe said. Maybe I’ll tell y’all eventually. hee hee No, we didn’t do 5* in St Louis, only in Nashville. Thanks for the compliment πŸ™‚ Jordan recognized Abs from Twitter. They’ve had DM conversations & he knew her face – it was very cool! xoxo

  3. I read this yesterday and for some reason I thought I’d commented, but I guess I didn’t! I think it’s cute neither of you asked Joe if you could kiss his cheeks :). I also think it’s adorable that Adeline fell asleep during the concert!

    Selling Avon sounds like it might be a fun and challenging new project … I’m going to take a look through the catalogue and figure out what I need in the next few days! I’ve asked my mom if she needs anything and she said she’d take a look too haha.

    As for writing, I know how difficult it is to find time for it! I’m thinking about picking up some freelance writing on the side and maybe turning that into a “full-time job” if I can keep it up. Without going into too much detail here (I’m paranoid about work being able to track me down online!), I haven’t been happy with my job for a really long time and I’d like more time to do my own writing. Good luck with trying to finish your WIP!

    1. πŸ™‚ Yeah Avon so far is fun & challenging. Check out my web site – I need some customers on there! Ha ha! You can have it sent directly to you through the site. As much as I’d like to come up to NY to deliver it to you, I can’t. πŸ˜‰ Do you guys regularly get Avon?

      It would be awesome if you could make freelance writing a full-time job! I’ve wanted to do that myself but there’s just not enough work in this area to make a living at it. I still haven’t written anything new (sigh) but hopefully soon! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading & commenting! Good luck w/ your own new adventure πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

