I Finished My Book! AndThe Soundtrack of My Life Continues

Surprisingly, I’ve not felt as inspired this week to write my usual music blog. Not that I’m not inspired by music because I always am. The reason is (and I could have blogged about this too) I finally finished my manuscript! Well I say it’s finished but what I mean is I have a completed draft. I still have lots of editing to do. I’m currently three-fourths of the way through my second round of edits. I’m proud of myself that I have somehow managed to cut out over 2k words. :O When I realized I needed to cut so many words, it seemed like a daunting task but it’s not been so bad. I am doing my best to cut anything that’s not absolutely essential to the story. Currently I’m at 111,007 words, which is 370 pages. Personally I think that’s a good length but from what I’ve read most debut novels should be around 100k words. My goal is 110k so we’ll see if I can do it! I’ve got some awesome friends reading it for me and can’t wait to get their feedback. Oh and I’ve also come up with a tentative title: A Scarred Mind. That’s thanks to my sister @abs1399. I knew I wanted the word ‘scar’ in the title somehow and she came up with that one. The only other title I’ve been able to come up with that I even kinda like is Visions & Scars. But meh. I would love someone I’m not close to to read the book but no one answered my Twitter plea. Sigh. I know my friends will give me honest feedback, though so I am stoked. πŸ™‚ The process is slow but coming along nicely.

So, anyways, time for the music! If I posted what inspired me as I finished the book, it would be all Joey McIntyre and New Kids on the Block. The song I was listening to as I typed the last words was Joe singing Moon River on his Talk to Me CD. Does it get much better than that? I don’t think so! Not for me, anyway. πŸ˜‰ Here’s a live version….unfortunately I’ve never seen him sing that song live in person…I could definitely do without all the talking going on – show some respect people!! But he still sings it beautifully.

Those of you who know me well know that I was a HUGE fan of the Lord of the Rings films. Yes, I love the books but in my opinion, the movies were even better. I fell in love with the cast, especially the hobbits and espcially Dominic Monaghan and Billy Boyd, who played Merry and Pippin respectively. If you’ve seen the films, you know that in the final film of the trilogy, Return of the King, we learned that Billy Boyd can sing his cute little Scottish ass off. Well, last year I discovered Billy has a band (!) and they are really freakin’ good. They’re called Beecake and have actually toured in the US. Wish I had known at the time! I love their sound and of course I love Billy’s voice. This is my favorite song of theirs called Ball of Earth. πŸ™‚

I saw this video off to the side on YouTube so I’m going to include it as well. πŸ™‚ This is another favorite, This Is Not An Exit.

Hm, now I’m feeling a British theme coming on πŸ˜‰ How about a singer I discovered in 2000 or 2001, Dido. Haven’t heard much about her lately but I developed a girl crush on her. I think she’s super talented and would love to hear more from her. I remember watching Craig Kilborn’s show and he had a crush on her as well. πŸ˜‰ Here With Me is probably my favorite of hers:

I really like this one too. πŸ™‚ As someone with a lot of walls up, it strikes a chord.

To break from the British pattern I was establishing, I remembered this song from the Garden State soundtrack. I LOVE the movie Garden State! If you haven’t seen it, check it out. A great, funny yet touching film. The soundtrack was also phenomenal. It’s very rare to even buy an entire soundtrack for a film, much less love every song included. Garden State is one of those rare instances. Check out this song by Cary Brothers. It’s beautiful.

I may write another blog with more music sooner rather than later but for now, I think this is good. πŸ™‚ Hope you all enjoy & have a great weekend! xoxo

One thought on “I Finished My Book! AndThe Soundtrack of My Life Continues

  1. Congrats again on finishing your manuscript and hacking 2k words! I’d offer to read it over, but I’m going to be pretty busy in my free time through at least mid-December. If you still need a set of eyes then, then by all means, send it to me!

    On the music: I love Cary Brothers and Dido! I’m not sure what Dido is up to these days either … I think I have her album from 2008, but I’m not sure I’ve given it more than a listen or two. I think it’s a pity she wasn’t really that popular in the U.S., other than being known for Eminem sampling her song haha.

Leave a Reply

