Words and music = my soul

It’s about that time, eh, chaps? πŸ˜‰ I know, I know. I was late last week with my weekly music blog. Maybe some of you didn’t even see it but check it out if you haven’t. Last week I was in Editing World, which can be a lonely and dark place. You want to interact with the rest of the world but more than that you just want to get to the end of your book and see the light at the end of the tunnel. By the light, I mean the day this piece of your heart and soul becomes a publishable novel. I don’t think I’m there yet but I’m getting close. I’ve done two rounds of edits since I finished the draft on Sept 16. I don’t know how many rounds of edits I did before I finally finished the story but I’m sure the number is in the 50s if not higher. I’ve started a third round but am taking it veeeerrrrryyyyy slowly. The main reason for that is I have several Twitter friends reading it and am waiting for their feedback before I continue. My goal was 110k words and even that is long for a first-time novel. Currently I’m at 110,600. Since my novel has a bit of a supernatural vibe (of course) I’m hoping I can get away with a longer length.

This week, my efforts have been focused on researching agents and how to write a good query letter. If you’re not a writer, you may not believe how much research you can put into this. I’ve read you should put as much time into finding an agent as you did writing the book. Oh, sh*t I say to that! I don’t want to wait another three years before something happens. Patience is not one of my strong suits. But I will work on it, trust my gut instincts and move forward. πŸ™‚

On to the music portion of this blog…I wasn’t sure if I was going to do a blog today or not but a song came on my iTunes this morning that really struck a chord. I didn’t cry but the tears were welled up. I just refused to let them fall. I’ve included a song by my second favorite all-time group already but as much as their music inspires me I’m sure there will be many more. This Lifehouse song is from their album Smoke & Mirrors. It’s not a single but luckily I found a live performance on YouTube. πŸ™‚ The song is called Crash and Burn and it perfectly fits how I’ve been feeling the past few days. Been having an inner struggle, to put it in a nutshell. I won’t go into great detail because I’m a Cancer so while I’m very sensitive, I also like to retreat into that shell so I don’t have to share anything. πŸ˜€ Besides, I don’t want to get too personal. Hope you all enjoy the song from the second best band in the world. And by the way, damn you New Kids! It’s your fault I haven’t seen Lifehouse live in 6 1/2 years! Okay it’s my fault but I’d rather blame you. πŸ˜‰ PS – Jason Wade is a beautiful man. And he really remindsΒ me of Dominic Monaghan (Merry in Lord of the Rings) in this video. I was in love with Dom for several years for those who don’t know. Β 

The next band has also already been featured on my blog. This was the song that got me into the Sundays back when I first heard it in the movie Fear, starring the other Wahlberg. I heard it again last night in an episode of Psych. I am in love with the show Psych by the way. If you don’t watch it, you should definitely check it out because it is the funniest TV show I’ve ever seen! I watched an episode or 2 back when it first came on in 2006 I believe. But I didn’t get into it then. I wish I had! I’ll admit I only got into it when I heard Joey McIntyre was going to have a guest spot this season. I remembered seeing the episode years ago and thinking it was hilarious so I looked up the show but it wasn’t going to be on TV anytime soon. So I forgot about it for a few months, occasionally checking to see if it’d be on. Finally, I found that it comes on a channel with TWC called Cloo so I DVR’ed it. OMG. I laughed my ass off! So now I record it every time it’s on and watch episodes online when I can. Anyway, the song Wild Horses was on the episode from last season that I watched last night. It was a moment of the show I’m sure viewers had been waiting for since the first season. It was awesome! And it reminded me of how much I love the song. By the way, the new season starts Oct 12 on USA at 10 p.m. EST πŸ™‚ I’m not sure when Joe’s episode is going to be on but I CAN’T WAIT.

I woke up this morning with this next song in my head. I loved it before but ever since the cruise in May, it’s held extra special meaning. I’m not a huge Rihanna fan but I do enjoy most of her songs. You can’t deny she’s a kick-ass vocalist whether you really like her or not. My daughter Adeline loves her because she saw her with pink hair. πŸ˜‰ Such a great dance track! GoodΒ stuff, folks. Good stuff. πŸ™‚ Β 

And this is why the cruise gave it new meaning. LOL I can’t hear the song without laughing now.The boys were feeling GOOD. πŸ˜‰Β #goodtimes

Oh but they weren’t done.

Sorry about that little stroll down memory lane. Maybe you had to be there but it was SO. MUCH. FUN. Happy sigh. Anyways, the next artist I haven’t included yet but became a big fan in 2007-ish. IΒ discovered this song on Vh1 in the middle of the night when they actually played videos. :O When I was pregnant with Adeline, I had major problems sleeping and would often be up all night watching TV on the couch. One of those times was when I first saw this video. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the video and the song, of course. He couldn’t have made a better video in my honest opinion. It reminds me of the road trips we take from NC to Missouri and back. I’ll admit I don’t know much of Mat Kearney’s current music but this album, Nothing Left to Lose,Β was stellar.

I could go on forever posting videos but I’m going to stop now just because this is getting too long. Of course I noticed I haven’t yet included a Joey McIntyre song and he’s usually first. This time I saved the best for last. πŸ˜‰ Well he’s the best in my totally biased opinion. This one I recorded from his solo show in Westchester PA in Jan 2010. He’s singing a Michael Jackson song and it’s beautiful. Please check it out! This guy is incredibly talented and I feel he doesn’t get enough respect. This song is the perfect ending for my blog. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading, y’all!

PS – that’s not me or my friends talking in the beginning. But that is my “WOOOOOO!!!” at the end. And yes I did clap with the camera still in my hand πŸ˜‰ xoxo

6 thoughts on “Words and music = my soul

  1. “Nothing Left to Lose” and “Wild Horses” are two of my all-time favorite songs, no question!! And, of course, “Only Girl in the World” cracks me up now, too, because of those fools on the cruise! Funny because I’d been saying I wanted Jordan to sing that to me on the cruise… LOL. πŸ˜€

  2. I’m one of your blog fans, you know. πŸ˜‰ So I read every blog you write even I don’t leave a comment. πŸ™‚
    I really hope you find a good agent to publish your book before very long though I know it’s not easy to happen. I’m looking forward to reading your latest book!
    I’d never heard of Lifehouse until you put the songs here, but now I kinda like them. πŸ™‚ And since you sent me a CD of Joey McIntyre the other day, I found him more attractive. πŸ™‚ Thanks!!

  3. I’m glad you read my blogs. πŸ™‚ I enjoy your comments. I hope I find an agent soon too! I know it’s not an easy process but I am looking forward to the challenge. I have to beleive I will find the perfect agent for me. πŸ˜€

    I’m also glad you like Lifehouse! They’ve been my favorite for 10 years now – their music really fits my life. I can send you Lifehouse CDs too if you want. And WOO HOO to liking Joe more. πŸ˜€

  4. Haha, I love the videos from the cruise! I can’t believe you’re expected to spend that much time finding an agent – oy! I guess it’s self-publishing for me whenever I write a novel ;).

    I love “Nothing Left To Lose” too, but I love his next album “City of Black and White” even more. If you ever come across it, you should definitely check it out!

    Joe sounds really great singing “Music & Me” … I like what he did with the music too. It sounds jazzed up and more contemporary — nice!

  5. Yeah I don’t know if you really need to spend that much time finding an agent. Seems a bit extreme to me! I took today off from the agent research but will probably be back at it tomorrow. I have considered self-publishing but not sure if it’s right for me. You know what that means – more research! πŸ˜‰

    I should check out Mat’s next album. I think he recently released a new one. Nothing Left to Lose came along as just the right time for me so I don’t know if I could love another album of his as much but it’s possible.

    Dude, I know. Joe was amazing singing that song. I didn’t admit this in the blog but I got all emotional and cried when I saw that live. I hope he didn’t notice. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

