Can I just move to New York now?

Uncharacteristic of myself & my blogs, this entry is going to be a rant. My sister is writing an editorial about this for our local paper (if they allow her to publish it). I want to express my thoughts as well and this blog is the best way I can think of to do it. Over the past week or so, I’ve seen things about my home state that have enraged me. I love North Carolina and have always been proud to be from this state but recent events have me embarrassed to admit I’m a North Carolinian. First off, there was the amendment to ban gay marriage. There were already laws in place prohibiting gay marriage but I guess our lovely state wanted to make damn sure two people who truly love each other can not get married. Meanwhile, they are cutting education left and right. I mean, who cares if our children get a good education as long as two gay dudes or lesbians will never get married here? Priorities. Hello?! The education cuts have hit home with me. As many of you know, my daughter Adeline started preschool in the More at 4 program here. She has been doing awesomely and her two teachers are wonderful with all of the kids. But now, because of these budget cuts, one of the teachers had to leave because she doesn’t have a two-year college degree. Never mind that she was taking excellent care of our children. The parents had absolutely no say in it. Now the kids have to get used to another teacher and I’m sure she’s lovely but how is it okay to take away the teacher they’ve grown to love a month into the program? She can come back as a substitute. Not to mention the teacher who is replacing her is now in a completely different class of kids and her replacement in the class she was taken from (because someone had to leave her class because they didn’t have a four-year degree – UGH) has to get used to a whole new group of kids too. It is ridiculous! And by the way, the state wants to get rid of this program completely. We weren’t even sure we were going to have the program until the week before school started. They are trying their damnedest to get rid of it. Why? I wish they could see what a wonderful thing it is for these kids. I have a great kid, yes, but I have seen her grow, become more confident in just a few weeks. And why exactly do they want to take that away? It almost seems like to make sure we don’t have to deal with those uncomfortable same sex marriages. GET OVER IT North Carolina!!!

I am just so disgusted. Then, to top it off, my sister’s car was hit this weekend in the parking lot of her office. She parked it there while we were at People Fest in town having a great time with Adeline. When the police came what did they do? Confiscate my sister’s license plate & make her feel like the criminal. Yeah. And why? Because the insurance lapsed for two days over three months ago. Apparently, there was some sort of fee she was supposed to pay but we missed the letter about it somehow. I understand being responsible for your actions and all that but now she can’t drive her car and it doesn’t matter that her insurance is caught up and current now. Oh and they have done absolutely nothing to look for the person who hit her car and left the scene. Their main concern seems to be making sure my sister doesn’t have her car. By the way, I don’t have  a car now so Adeline and I are totally dependent on her for transportation. Thank God her preschool and my sister’s work are within walking distance. But it’s kind of going to suck if it rains before we can get her car back. I just think it is ridiculous that they can take away someone’s license plate even though she is now caught up on her insurance payments. We all make mistakes and I understand paying for them. She did pay the fee and they still won’t give the plate back, saying there has to be some kind of hearing. Meanwhile, this person got away with hitting her car and no one seems to give a damn.

Sorry for the rant, peeps. I will be back later with my usual weekly music blog and be much more positive and happier, I promise. 😀 I just has to get this off my chest. I know New York is far from perfect either but that’s where I want to be and at this point, if I had the money, our bags would be packed. I’d happily become a New Yorker.

Thanks, as always, for reading. xoxo

3 thoughts on “Can I just move to New York now?

  1. New York would love to have you. 🙂 I think politicians have their priorities all wrong … I never did trust politicians … only artists ha!

    But the police are senseless everywhere. I used to think they were protecting me and trusted them, but after a minor fender bender in a parking lot and an exchange with a belligerent and rude NYPD officer, my mind has been changed.

  2. I would love to be in New York! I am beginning to understand that it’s probably a national problem. I don’t know why some people, especially those sworn to “serve and protect” have to act that way. Thanks for reading & subscribing 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

