The first album I bought with my own money?

So it would seem my blog has become bi-weekly rather than weekly as I originally intended. I guess some weeks I just don’t feel inspired, although I am always inspired by music and have it playing constantly as I work or even as I stare off into space and wish I was writing. πŸ˜‰ Last night my good friend Maxine (@MaxineWrites – follow her if you’re not – she’s awesome!) posted a blog about the first album she bought with her own money. Her blog post got me thinking, what was the first album I bought with my own money? Honestly I can’t remember. My mom bought me the music I wanted. We never had allowances. But if we really wanted something she would buy it, maybe once a month or every two months. It wasn’t very often, I can tell you that. The first music we picked out for ourselves were actual record albums, on vinyl. We had an Expose album, The Lost Boys soundtrack (you know it rocked), The Jets, The Karate Kid II soundtrack, Debbie GibsonΒ and a few others I can’t think of right now.

I am quite certain the first album my sister and I bought with our own money was a New Kids on the Block album. I remember our mom buying us Hangin’Tough on cassette. I also remember buying New Kids on the Block singles, actual records, at least in 1988 and 1989. I wish I could remember if we bought them with our own money or if Mom paid for it. In any case, we still have vinyl singles of Please Don’t Go Girl, The Right Stuff and I’ll Be Loving You Forever. I love that we have actual New Kids on the Block records. In mid toΒ late 1989, we started buying cassingles – singles on cassette. We bought each single New Kids on the Block came out with and I believe our first cassingle was Hangin’ Tough. We did buy cassingles other than New Kids but I don’t treasure them as much. πŸ˜‰ We had Wilson Phillips, Sweet Sensation, Roxette, Luther Vandross, to name a few. Good times. I know our mom bought us the cassette of New Kids on the Block’s next album, Step by Step in June 1990. That summer, my sister and I worked in the tobacco fields for the first time (the previous summer we worked with our mom in another area of tobacco harvesting) so we were earning our own money in 1990. We would be paid only at the end of summer, in one lump sum. I’m sure we bought music at the end of the summer as much as I love music. I’m sure we bought cassingles. But as for the first album we bought with our own money, I’m going to guess it was the remix album, No More Games. Therefore, I feel the need to post the videos from that album. πŸ™‚

For No More Games, New Kids revamped their song, Games. Thank God because although the message of the song needed to be said, they improved it a hundred-fold for the remix album. The rap was leagues better. Donnie may have written both raps (I honestly can’t remember) but the Step by Step version was candy-coated. Let’s face it & I’ll admit it – Step by Step was not the album it could’ve or should’ve been. They produced it quickly just to get the fans new music. It could have been so much better and I never felt, even then, that it spoke to who they really were. No More Games did, which you wouldn’t think a remix album could do. Even better was Face the Music, which was released in 1994. But I’m getting ahead of myself. I think it was during that summer of 1990, Magic Summer as the tour was called, that the guys realized just how out of control things had gotten. They tried to take control but it was too late. The merchandising was ridiculous – I didn’t like it, I don’t think they liked it but it was just so huge by then. Sigh. I do own some of the crazy merchandise but Mom usually bought it for us. Then she would wonder why we’d be like “Mom! Don’t buy this crap!” LOL Obviously I can’t speak for every Blockhead, but for my sister and I, it was actually about the music, about that first love, not about all the crazy merchandise. I was relieved when it finally died down. I just wish the world could actually see the talent that has been there all along, underneath the phenomenon. They became so popular originally for the talent, not the marketing, I don’t care what anyone says.

Well, I got really off topic there. πŸ˜‰ Anywho! Even if No More Games wasn’t actually bought with my own money, it was special and I’m glad they revamped the songs. The video for Games is one of their best. Check it out!

New Kids released another video from the No More Games album, Call It What You Want. Again, the song was sooooo much better when remixed and included a rap by the guy from C&C Music Factory, which were a HUGE deal in 1990. After the reunion in 2008, for the spring tour in 2009, they opened with the improved Call It What You Want (does anyone even remember the version on Step by Step? I kinda do but meh) and it was so amazing! I didn’t love this song until the remix album, I can tell you that. This was the “What it’s like on tour” video. πŸ˜‰ Suddenly I really miss 1990.

And just because it was one of the greatest nights of my life….okay and to show that they are better performers these days, I found a video from the 2009 concert I was lucky enough to witness from second row center. Such good memories! πŸ™‚

Yes the intro is long but you gotta love NKOTB. They certainly know how to whip us into a frenzy! I was right behind this girl & I hear my screams. Ha ha! Now I’m all nostalgic…Hope y’all have enjoyed reading this. I encourage comments. And by the way, yes, Joe I can feel it. πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “The first album I bought with my own money?

  1. In Japan music tapes weren’t very major. I remember buying many records in my youth. All of my family love music and my father used to have a huge collection of records. I think I spent a lot of my pocket money on records and CD’s.
    My first record was a Japanese one, obviously, and I was too young to buy because it was when I was 7 yrs old. My mother bought it for me, I think.
    By the way, I really love ‘Call It What You Want’ REMIXED, too!! Probably it’s my no.1 or 2 song out of New Kids songs! The intro is really cool!! And at concerts their dance was fabulous! I was so excited to see it at a concert in Japan. πŸ™‚
    Apart from New Kids, I bought some American CD’s such as Wilson Phillips, Tiffany, Jason Donovan, Tommy Page and The B-52’s. Actually The B-52’s CD might have been my first foreign CD which I bought by myself. I went to Arizona in summer 1989 and my host family took me to their concert. I soon became a fan of their music. πŸ™‚
    My best time was when I was in high school, so when I listen to the music from 1989-1992, I feel the nostalgia.

    1. That’s cool! I didn’t know you had come to America in 1989 – that was a very good year. πŸ˜‰ Call It What You Want is amazing live! I hope they will do it again someday. Glad you got to see it live. It was so cool when they brought it back for the reunion tour!

  2. OMG I love your blog!!! The memories!!!! πŸ˜€ Even though they got way too big in 1990, I’m so glad I was there for it, almost from the beginning. I will always love those fools! Heehee…

  3. I love it, and thanks for the shoutout! Even though I wasn’t a fan of NKOTB back then, even little ole five-year-old me was aware of the marbles and the trading cards haha.

    I couldn’t agree more with you on Games and Call It What You Want. I can’t listen to either original album versions anymore. I’d never really enjoyed remixes before, but these remixes are infinitely better than the originals! The original Call It What You Want seems so lethargic in comparison. I’d LOVE to see them perform it live … maybe if they tour on their own and I’m at the right place at the right time, I’ll get to see it for myself someday. πŸ™‚

    1. You’re welcome for the shoutout πŸ˜‰ I bought the marbles years later as a joke but I certainly never thought they were cool! And I wholeheartedly agree about the remix album. Usually it’s a waste of time & pointless but their remix album was a definite improvement, at least on Games & Call It What You Want. Please Don’t Go Girl probably didn’t need to be one of the remixes but anyway. I hope you do get the chance to see it live for yourself someday! πŸ˜€ It was very cool

Leave a Reply

