It does not suck to be a Joe girl

(Yes, this blog is intended for my Blockhead friends but please read even if you’re not a fan.)

Joe or Joey McIntyre? I’ve heard it both ways, to quote my favorite show “Psych.” πŸ˜‰ Personally I call him Joe because he was always known by Joe back in the day. To me, Joey is his stage name but if you call him that, it’s all good. Whether you were a goner from the first note of “Please Don’t Go Girl” or became a Joe girl when New Kids on the Block burst back onto the scene in 2008 (like me), it really doesn’t matter. I actually did become a New Kids fan when I first heard “Please Don’t Go Girl” in the late summer of 1988 and truly have always been a Joe girl at heart. I just didn’t realize it until the reunion. But still, that doesn’t make me any better than the fan whoΒ wasn’t even born in 1988 or didn’t discover them until recent years. We all have a sisterhood and a bond that not many other people understand. I can’t even put into words what it is. My theory is that we are all soul mates: the Blockheads and our New Kids. The bond is just too strong for it to be anything else.

But just like birth sisters, my Blockhead sisters can get on my nerves. There’s jealousy, attention whoring, all scrambling to be the favorite of whoever their guy is or maybe just get a tweet. I’ve been guilty of desperately begging for a tweet or follow. I’m not proud of it but we all sometimes get caught up in the crazyness. It’s like high school sometimes: “if he just notices me my life will be made!” I see it every day, girls begging to be tweeted, twugged, humped on Wednesdays, or just to get a hi from one of the guys. I understand but let’s face it. We place too much importance on Twitter. I recently saw a complaint that it sucks to be a Joe girl because he doesn’t tweet much. This really bothered me. Yes, I wish he tweeted more of course. Twitter provides us with a connection to the guys (and each other) we would not otherwise have. It’s a beautiful thing. But our lives don’t need to revolve around it. And just because Joe doesn’t tweet every day, it doesn’t mean he doesn’t care about his fans. It doesn’t mean he’s not thinking about us, maybe even thinking of something he can do to thank us. As if he hasn’t done enough! The guy is AMAZING. Just because he doesn’t tweet you or follow you doesn’t mean you mean any less than the first girl he followed. We should be thanking our lucky stars he tweets at all. A lot of celebs have someone tweet for them. We are lucky all 5 New Kids tweet for themselves and give us twitpics and bubble tweets and a tiny glimpse into their lives. And it’s also incredibly awesome that they follow fans. True, Joe doesn’t follow nearly as many as Jordan or Donnie. I’m lucky enough to be one that he follows (THANK YOU again Abby!! And Joe, of course xoxo) and I used to beg him for a follow, then feel dirty. I don’t like begging for anything. If he wants to follow, he will. If he doesn’t, it doesn’t mean there’s necessarily anything wrong with you or he doesn’t like you. He has over 130,000 followers. I imagine it’s very hard to see all his tweets. I have 645 followers and I miss tweets from my friends all the time!

Truthfully, I’ve been tweeted by Joe McIntyre several times and yes, each time was thrilling, especially that first one in 2009 because it was a shoutout to the great friends I made volunteering for Joe’s Let’s Get This Foundation in Virginia Beach. And that brings me to what I really want to talk about: how freaking amazing it is to be a Joe girl. A fine example: The Let’s Get This Foundation and book drives Joe did on the Full Service tour in the summer of 2009…who does that? I was lucky enough to be picked as a volunteer, along with my twin sister (@abs1399) and a great group of girls I didn’t know beforehand. But thanks to Joe, I still (and always will) count them among my best friends. I don’t know that we would have met if he hadn’t picked us all as volunteers. Of course we weren’t the only group. He picked 10 volunteers in each city. You got to meet him but it wasn’t like a meet and greet. We were there for this greater cause, collecting books for children who might not otherwise ever see a book. It’s hugely important and I still give to First Book whenever I can.Β I was so impressed with him for putting the charity together, for giving his fans the opportunity to volunteer and be a part of it. Not many “celebrities”Β do things like that.

And last night, he performed at the Boston Tree Lighting in Boston Common, then did a private intimate and FREE show for his fans. I wasn’t lucky enough to be chosen for that. He’s actually doing two – the one in Boston last night and one in New York City December 14. I tried for the NYC show because if you know me, I LOVE NYC and seeing Joe there again would have been phenomenal. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be for me this time because I wasn’t picked. I was upset about it at first but I now realize it simply wasn’t meant to be. And it’s not like I haven’t been picked for something he did before. It would have been a dream come true but I have faith he will do something even more amazing down the road that I can take part in. Because he’s just an incredible human being. But anyway, I’ve seen video and pics from the show last night. Joe apparently went out into the crowd, singing and taking pictures with every single person there. And it was FREE! Considering we paid hundreds of dollars for two minutes with all five New Kids, that is a pretty sweet deal!

One of my friends Carrie was there and I can’t wait to see her pics!! I actually made friends with her because of Joe, too. She was going to Vegas to see him in March and so was I. We met on the nkotb.com message board, then through Twitter and finally in person in Vegas to see Joe. We ended up sitting next to each other for his show, which was as always, AWESOME! The Vegas experience is another example of how wonderful he is to his fans. Yes, it was a bit of a stretch to fly across the country but he made it so worth it. The shows were intimate, like last night’s show only I think last night’s was probably even better. Taking into account how huge New Kids on the Block were in 1990, it is mind-blowingly awesome to now be able to get so close. They could easily still hide behind bodyguards, not do the 5* meet & greets, not cruise. Hell, they never had to come back at all. They were set for life so they really don’t have to do any of this. It’s not like any of them have starving kids to feed. Ya feel me? So I consider everything they do for us a blessing. It’s all more icing on the cake and dude, the cake is really, really rich by now!

For anyone who hasn’t met Joe yet, your time is coming. And he will make it amazing for you. I’ve met him several times now and each time he has been incredibly sweet and attentive. He makes you feel like you’re the only girl in the room when he’s talking to you. Those intense insanely beautiful baby blues lock onto you and you know he’s really listening. He makes you believe he cares about what you’re saying. Actually, I sincerely think he does care. And despite popular opinion, Mr. McIntyre gives the best hugs! Maybe it’s a Joe girl thing. Maybe he intuits who are the Joe girls and hugs them tighter. No I don’t just say he gives the best hugs because he’s my favorite. Honestly, no one has ever hugged me quite like that. When you’re in his arms, you don’t want him to ever let go. Sigh. Okay, so I’m obviously smitten but it’s true. Trust me: when you meet Joe, it will be awesome!

I know this is a long-winded blog but this has been building in me for a long time. I was hesitant to say anything because I hate to complain, especially on Twitter. I’m grateful for everything, especially my wonderful friends, most of whom are Blockheads. It does not suck to be a Joe girl. ItΒ couldn’t NOT suck any more.Β In fact, we may be the luckiest NKOTB fans of all.

I invite comments and want to know what you really think. If any Joe girls (or any Jordan/Donnie/Jon/Danny girls or even non-Blockheads!) want to share a story, by all means do! Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚

 

16 thoughts on “It does not suck to be a Joe girl

  1. I already read this so I know it’s an AWESOME blog!!! πŸ˜€ Of course, I beg to differ and of course, I think Jordan gives the best hugs and is AMAZING to his fans as well… but maybe you’re right and they can tell who are the Joe and Jordan girls, respectively, and they squeeze us a little tighter than the other girls. πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, I love how much you love Joe and if it wasn’t for Jordan, he’d be my favorite New Kid, too, so I feel ya and it most definitely DOES NOT suck to be a Joe (or Jordan) girl!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. I don’t have anything to add, but I think this is a wonderful message and important to keep in mind when we get caught up in the little things! πŸ™‚ The internet makes the world seem so much smaller than it is … and most of the time, that’s a blessing but sometimes it’s a curse!

    1. I was wondering who M was πŸ˜‰ You are so right: everything on the Internet seems to be a blessing & a curse. Especially Twitter. πŸ™‚ I love it but sometimes I really hate it! Thanks for reading & commenting xoxo

  3. You’re so dead on right. I confess I’m also guilty of all behaviors you mentioned in your blog. *blushing*

    Sometimes I felt neglected or not funny/intelligent/ or stand out enough for him to notice me on Twitter. There are times I felt that he actually saw my tweets but chose to answer indirectly and it gave me mixed feelings of “yay he saw me” and “why didnt he just RT or answer me?” Sometimes I even felt that he rejected me because I’m Deaf and felt that I’m annoying or rude for sending him articles or events related to Deafness via twitter. I felt the same way when he didn’t pick me for one of both intimate shows. I even vented my frustration to him via twitter & I feel kinda stupid that I did that but Joe would want us to say what is on our mind (remember Stay the Same) and be true to ourselves so I guess that’s why I voiced out my frustration. After voicing out, I really had to stop and scold myself for making too many assumptions without any solid evidence that he is actually ignoring me. I have always known that there are just too many girls tweeting him through the day everyday. I also told Joe & myself via twitter that there has to be a better & bigger opportunity for me to meet him when my time comes.

    I am just going to have to be patient and remain positive until the day comes.

    Whatever I behaved or said is now all in past and all I have to do is to forgive myself & move forward thinking positively like Donnie would say on his tweets.

    ~Rose. (@moonlitcatz on twitter)

    1. First of all, thank you for reading & for your honesty. I think we all have been guilty of thinking he’s ignoring us at one time or another. I honestly don’t think he’s consciously ignoring anyone. It certainly wouldn’t be because your deaf. I don’t personally know Joe but I know he’s a better person than that. When the time is right, your day will come too and you’ll get to meet him. πŸ™‚ We all, as Blockheads & women in general, tend to take things too personally. I definitely did it when I wasn’t picked to go to one of his intimate shows. Just have faith & like you said, remain positive that there’s a better opportunity around the corner. πŸ™‚

      1. It feels really good to share my feelings/thoughts to other blockheads. Several of my Deaf friends do like NKOTB but they don’t relate or understand the intensity of my love for them. Some of them have been to NKOTB concert and felt one time was good enough for them but for me, I would love to go EVERY shows if I could but my life doesn’t revolve around them. I wouldn’t allow myself to do that anyway. *chuckles*

  4. I’m proud of you because you have your own strong opinions on Joe. I think you are a person who can think of people with care. On the other hand, I’m still a child in mind, which is embarrassing.
    By the way, now I’m so interested in meeting Joe after hearing how amazing Joe is during meet & greets! πŸ™‚ I hear a lot that Jon is very adorable there, but Joe sounds great too from your blog!
    As you know, I’ve never had a chance to talk to any of NKOTB. I really hope the day I meet them comes soon. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Masumi! You’re not childish. You’re a beautiful person – give yourself more credit! I mean, Adeline REALLY loves those socks you sent. πŸ˜‰ Yes, Joe is great – I hope you get to meet them! Still praying they come to Japan. And that you’ll come to the US sometime if they don’t xoxo

  5. Amy,
    What an awesome blog and I don’t say that only because I’m mentioned πŸ™‚ This is so true. Joe is truly an amazing person, performer and in some ways a friend. He may not tweet or follow everyone but he cares for each of us! I feel so truly blessed that Joe brought us together and now we’re friends!

    1. Awww! You’re very sweet πŸ™‚ And you’re right – in a way, it is almost like we are friends w/ him too. I’m so thankful for all of the wonderful friends he’s brought into my life πŸ™‚

  6. I’m a Jordan girl but more shy about tweeting to a celebrity than most perhaps. We want to know the celebrity cares that we care. That’s what fans want otherwise we feel slighted somehow. You have a great blog to reference because you’ve explained the fan and celebrity relationship rather well! Writers now have to consider the social side now more than ever. Fans are customers and fans of NKOTB are very loyal. After going to the reunion concert, I felt that the fan relationship was reciprocated with an awesome show and the boys were sincere to their fans. But a tweet from Joey is a great feeling I’m sure!

    1. Thank you for reading! I don’t tweet any celebrities except New Kids. It is pretty awesome when they tweet you. πŸ™‚ I was just thinking to myself maybe I should write a book – memoir I guess – about what it’s like to be a Blockhead, in a way that others could understand. I know there is a book coming out in the next year or so called NKOTB and Us, where fans submitted stories & pics. I submitted a story for it & think it’s wonderful. But also because I heard they were doing this book, I gave up on my dream of writing a similar one. But maybe I gave up too easily…

      1. Or you could write the outline and then keep adding to it… not let it go but let time go by and show how you grow being a loyal fan as time goes on. I’m thinking of how my mom is still a Beatles and Elvis fan. When she hears their songs, she is young again. πŸ™‚

  7. That’s an idea too! I’m definitely going to give it more thought. I’ve kept a journal over the past few years, since before the NKOTB reunion so I have those pages to draw from. Oh now I’m getting excited about it again! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

