Query Hell

It’s happening again. I am holding too much of what I think and feel inside. So I figured this was a good time for another blog. First of all, thanks everyone for the positive response on my last blog about Joe McIntyre. I thought there may be a few haters out there, who didn’t like what I have to say about Blockheads but I was wrong. If they were out there, they didn’t comment. It was definitely my most popular blog post and I’m very proud of it. I hope that Joe read it. I think he may have, but I don’t know for sure. I was going to vent but I have decided to keep my opinions about some things to myself.

I have blogged a lot this year about NKOTB and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. After all, they’ve been a big part of what made this year so amazing. I hope they will be a big part of 2012 as well. But for now I’m going to write about another more important part of my soul (OMG yes there are things in life more important than New Kids): My Writing. As many of you know, I recently completed my manuscript for A Scarred Mind. When I say completed, I mean I wrote a beginning, middle and ending. The editing process has been ongoing for at least three months and I’m still editing. I don’t think writers ever really stop editing. We just eventually give up and decide to try to get our stories out there in the real world. I’m at that stage now. Although I’m still editing, I’ve gotten the manuscript down to under 105,000 words and have written a query. I plan to write different queries for each agent, personalizing the query for that agent. I hope this is a good idea. I’ve agonized over my query letter for weeks on end. Since I’ve gotten positive feedback from those who have read it (thanks guys!) I’m confident but also wary of rejection, trying to steel myself for it. As a Cancer, I am oversensitive so it’s doubly hard for me to prepare for rejection. It’s hard to imagine someone not wanting to read about these characters who are so near to my heart. Jake, George and Tom are friends of mine now. I don’t want anyone to tell me they’re not good enough or that my telling of their story isn’t good enough. But I will handle it and try not to take it personally. In all likelihood, when the story is rejected (because I know it’s a certainty), it will be because I was simply not a good fit for that agent. I know there is an agent out there who is going to love these chracters as much as I do. I just have to find him/her. (See? I’m aย positive thinker these days)

I’ve done so much research on query letters and synopsis, I can’t see straight. I eat, breathe and sleep this book and queries. The Dreaded Synopsis is my new enemy. While I have a query letter I (finally) think is good, I’m scared to death of the synopsis. Yet I know I need to get one together before I begin actually sending out these queries. Perhaps after one of my editing sessions, I’ll become so fired up about my book, I will bang out a kick-ass synopsis. That’s what I keep telling myself anyway. For those of you who have been through this process, feel free to offer any advice or your own horror or victory stories. ๐Ÿ™‚ As always, I welcome feedback. Hopefully one day not too far in the future I will blog about landing my awesome agent!

4 thoughts on “Query Hell

  1. You’ve been working on your book so hard and I believe there are some agents which like your book!!
    Good luck!!! I’m praying for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I think it’s so brave of you to be taking these steps … it takes real courage to share characters you’ve created and fallen in love with with other people! And the query letters and other paperwork that goes into realizing your dream … it’s all so hard but surely worth it in the end. Good luck, and I can’t wait to read the blog telling us the story of how you landed your agent! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

