I’m scared but excited…

So if you’re a friend of mine on Twitter, you know that I am a writer and recently (well, in September of last year) completed my first novel. Well….I’ve written several other novels over the past 20-something years but this is the first one I’ve felt is good enough to actually maybe possibly be published. I’ve been writing it since 2008. It may have been inspired by a certain “boy band” comeback.ย ๐Ÿ˜‰ Over the past couple of months, I have been feverishly editing and studying up on how to query agents. It’s been an experience, to say the least.

So, today, a few minutes ago I finally bit the bullet and pressed SEND to submit my first query to an agent. OMG! This is why I’m scared but excited. As a Cancer, my feelings are easily hurt so I’m steeling myself for the inevitable rejections to come. I will try my best not to take them personally. If I can’t handle rejection and criticism, then I can’t handle being a published author. Writing is all I’ve ever wanted to do. I want this so badly. And I’ll be honest. Even if I don’t find an agent and this book is never published, I will still write. I’ll be devastated because I am very close to my characters. They have become good friends of mine and I want to be the one who’s good enough to tell their story. My characters were inspired by a few guysย my Blockhead friendsย know and love. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, I will keep everyone updated on the query process, which will most likely be fraught with rejection and depression. I know my friends will be here for me with support and you will remind me to get my ass in gear and keep trying. Right? Let’s get this.

7 thoughts on “I’m scared but excited…

  1. I think I can imagine how you feel … most things that mean that much to me I’m usually too afraid to even attempt, purely out of fear of rejection. I think it’s so brave of you to have come this far! Let’s get this! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I know we do not know each other that long but as a fellow blockhead, I’m proud of you. I hope this quote by Eleanor Roosevelt will help you to keep pressing on. “No one shall make you feel inferior without your consent”. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

