News Update

So…after being so incredibly excited about the awesome agent requesting to read my full manuscript, she rejected it the same day that I sent it. 😦 Unfortunately, she didn’t connect to my main character and felt my characters, scenery and the murder that sets everyting in motion needed more detail. I’ll admit I was devastated. I questioned my entire manuscript and considered a complete rewrite, the thought of which filled me with trepidation and fear. I’d felt so close to the book finally being as perfect as it was going to get. Now I felt I needed to start over completely. I took it personally. I considered giving up on trying to publish this manuscript at all. I will never give up on writing – I couldn’t if I tried – but I started to think maybe this wasn’t the right book or the right time or maybe I’m just not good enough and my writing should remain as a hobby, something for me and my friends only. I told my sister as much, that I was thinking of giving up on it. And then I checked my email. I had an email from another agent, whom I had queried with the first three chapters. Guess what? She also requested the full manuscript. If that’s not a sign to not give up, I don’t know what is. Maybe awesome agent just wasn’t the right one for me. And maybe the second one to request the full isn’t either. But she (maybe he?) is out there, The One for me that will help me realize my dream of becoming a published author. If I end up needing to rewrite the entire manuscript, if agent #2 says the same thing about my characters and the scenery, then I will certainly do it. I will do whatever it takes because I want this SO. BADLY. I want to see A Scarred Mind on the shelves at Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million. I want to see someone reading it on a train in New York City. And while I’m at it, I want to be back in NYC anyway. 😉

In short, I had a bad day Tuesday. I let rejection bring me down, but it was only for a limited time. I am extremely grateful for awesome agent’s critique. I am taking what she told me and using it to make the book better, to make me a better writer. And someday, I will get there. You will see a blog called “The Call” when I get my agent. You’ll see one about where and when you can buy my book. I am going to do this, dammit! 😀

Thank you all so much for your support, by the way. I couldn’t do this without you! xoxo

2 thoughts on “News Update

  1. I’m so proud of you for not letting this beat you. And believe me, I know how easy it is to give up. I have wanted to give up countless times. But don’t!! We will do this. Both of us. And then we’ll go on our book tour with Krispy Kreme donuts and Diet Coke!!! And an array of cheeses.

Leave a Reply

