A new identity?

So for a while now I have debated whether or not to make a separate Twitter account specifically for my writing. I know a lot of writers do this and have one account for their personal friends or to follow celebrities and one for the writing. Of course because I’m a loyal fan of New Kids on the Block, most of the writers I’m talking about have separate accounts for following New Kids but not all. For a while, over a year, I have struggled with whether or not to make a new account for writing. The thing is I am really emotionally attached to my Twitter account. I’ve had this one since 2009 and I feel that I can be myself, speak my mind whether it’s about writing or NKOTB (I think my profile makes it clear that’s what I’ll be tweeting about: writing and New Kids) or my newfound spiritual path. Also, @twisted_writer is followed by fellow Blockheads and a lot of writers. I think the number is probably evenly divided between New Kids fans and writers. I’m also followed by a New Kid, my favorite guy, Joe McIntyre, so I definitely wouldn’t want to give up the account.

The thing is since I’m followed by both writers and fellow Blockheads, if I made a new account, how do I get all the writers to go over to a new account? And since I am @twisted_writer I’m already saying I’m going to be tweeting about writing, you know? I’ll be honest. In some ways, I feel like by making a new account, I’d be saying I’m ashamed by the BH part of my identity, like I don’t want writers to see that side because I’m supposed to be “professional” on a writing twitter, right? Not that I totally fangirl but I do tweet & retweet pictures of them, stories about them and have lots of conversations with my friends who are BHs. I don’t like the idea that this makes me look bad as a writer. Can’t I be professional and supportive of my favorite guys at the same time? Professional yet still myself? So this argument is ultimately why I am still @twisted_writer and not also @amycavenaugh or some more professional sounding writer tweeter. I don’t want to give up either side of who I am but I do want to be taken seriously. I’m torn about what I should do, if anything.

I also want to point out that I’m not saying anyone who has two separate twitters is denying any part of themselves or is ashamed to be a Blockhead or whatever else they are in addition to being a writer. It’s just that I don’t feel I ever get that crazy but I do think some writers have unfollowed me because I also tweet about New Kids. I want to have that balance with my twitter of being a writer and a Blockhead. I originally got on Twitter because of New Kids and it has grown from there to include tweeting about writing. I think I have always tweeted about both, hence the name @twisted_writer. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, I obviously want to keep only this one twitter and have you guys justify it for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ heehee! I suppose I am just feeling unsure if I can be taken seriously andย continue to be myself.

There have been times I changed my avi to a pic of just me in an effort to be taken more seriously but I inevitably go back to the cruise 2011 avi or the pic of me, Joe and Eman from Vegas. The reason for this is not to be like “Look I’m with Joe! I met him, ya know.” It’s because those were two very happy times in my life, where I got to go on real vacations and let loose with my girls and I think you can tell from the photos I was truly happy. That’s why I really like those two photos so much. I also thought well, I could just cut the guys out of them and make it me but I don’t like that idea either. Just feeling very torn, people.

So what do y’all think? Just stay @twisted_writer or make a separate writing Twitter? Any advice?

3 thoughts on “A new identity?

  1. Truthfully, in some ways I wish that I had just stuck with one account. You can always change the name on it, but I don’t see an issue with yours. I’d keep it as is. I find it really hard to keep up with 2 accounts, and I’m attached to my original account, too, so my “writer” account tends to get neglected, which kind of defeats the purpose. I’ve also found that using private lists is a good way to keep up with the people I talk to on a regular basis, despite following a zillion other accounts. I still read my whole timeline when I have time, but there’s just no way for me to keep up with every tweet from everyone I follow on both accounts.

    1. That’s what I was wondering too – would I ever check the writer account? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think abswrites works well for Abby but I already had so many writer followers on twisted_writer I think it would be silly to change it at this point. Thanks for your advice. I do have lists & should probably check them more often. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I don’t think you should change the name or start another account. You’ve got a good balance of BH and writer friends… and some are both, like me & Cynthia & Dannie! ๐Ÿ™‚ I only started another account cuz abs1399 has had some drama in the past thanks to BSCs and drama queens. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

