RIP Laptop Charger. Trauma. And #GUTGAA

As many of you know, I finally ended up making a new Twitter for my writing, which you can follow: @AmyCavenaugh. It has worked out well so far and I kinda like having a separate identity while still tweeting away on @twisted_writer.

So yesterday was not a good day for me. It was my five-year-old daughter’s first day of kindergarten and while that was awesome, the rest of the day went downhill. I had it in my mind I was going to spend her first day of school writing. Finally I would have my “me time” and I planned to take advantage of it. Well, as luck would have it, my laptop charger cord died when I plugged it in. I heard it fizzle. I was very upset! Sadly, I am very attached to my laptop. I send backups of my work to my sister and critique partner but she had taken her netbook to work with her in hopes she would work on her own writing. So at home I didn’t have a backup way to write. There was much weeping over the demise of my laptop. No it’s not dead forever but it will be a few weeks before I can get a replacement charger cord. I really wish there had been some sort of warning it was on the fritz, as when the battery died a couple of months ago. Perhaps I am TOO attached to my laptop. Anyways, it wasn’t the disaster I made it out to be. A setback, yes, but not really the end of the world. I had a notebook and pen. I could still write. And I did while waiting for my daughter to get off the bus. I was happily writing after my meltdown, lost in the dystopian world of my new WIP. It felt like the old days, when I wrote my original “witches” story in notebooks and on notebook paper. It’s kinda awesome.

Then I realized it had been an hour since school let out. We live two miles from the school. Where was my kid?? I called the school and was told the first day was hectic and they’re running late. So I thought, “Okay, I’ll chill. I’m sure she’ll be here soon.” Wrote some more. I soon realize it’s been an hour and a half since school let out. Where the hell is the bus?!?! Now panic is starting to set in. My writer’s imagination ran away with me. I was thinking the worst. “The school bus driver is really a pedophile and took her home with him.” This is why I don’t watch Criminal Minds anymore. I called again and this time was told the driver was new and couldn’t find the house and my daughter didn’t remember her address. I try to calm down. I sit by the road, staring at the highway, willing the bus to appear. No more writing will be done today. After two more calls and panicked pacing of my front yard, the bus finally showed up at 4:52 p.m. More than two hours after school. I didn’t rip the driver a new one, although I really wanted to. I was just relieved to have my daughter home since I’d begun to wonder if I’d ever see her again. I hugged her probably too tightly and established with the driver that this is her house and please don’t ever forget it.

Thank God the school has a “staggered start” and she doesn’t go back again until after Labor Day. I’m not sure I could have put her on the bus again. I’m grateful we have time to recover. Adeline says she’s okay but I’m sure she will never forget her first bus ride! Hopefully we will have recovered enough from the trauma to get her on the bus next week. Other than that, her first day of kindergarten went well and she said everyone’s nice. Mom had an awful day and was cranky after that but well, today is a new day! πŸ˜€

Today, I am borrowing my wonderful sister’s netbook and have been writing all morning – woot! And even wrote a blog. So the death of my laptop charger did not mean I couldn’t write. If anything, it has ultimately reminded me I can write whenever I want. I don’t need my precious laptop. I just really really want it. πŸ˜‰ And I will be overjoyed when I can use it again. I will love it and squeeze it and possibly call it George.

Also, I decided to join #GUTGAA today, which if you don’t know what it is, you can read about it here.Β http://deanabarnhart.blogspot.com/2012/07/sign-up-time-for-gearing-up-to-get.htmlΒ I wish I knew how to put in a handy-dandy link and you click on the word. How do y’all do that? I’m not very tech-savvy. I’m still a little iffy on exactly how this contest works but I am excited about it nevertheless. πŸ™‚ Good luck to everyone else who has entered! Now I am going back to my depressing (but exciting to me) dystopian WIP. Remember what I forgot yesterday: every day is what you make of it. If you choose to see the bad, that’s all you’ll see. But when you choose to see the light and good things, they will outweigh the tiny bad things. xoxo

7 thoughts on “RIP Laptop Charger. Trauma. And #GUTGAA

  1. I’ve always enjoyed reading your blogs. I remember my daughter getting on a wrong school bus and we were finally reunited around 9pm one time. I was terrified and I understand the thought of not possibly seeing her ever again. πŸ™‚ Glad your daughter is ok.

    Is your laptop one of those MacPack thing? I hope not! πŸ™‚

    1. No the MacPac wasn’t a laptop – it was a messenger bag. πŸ˜‰ I do carry my laptop in it when I travel though. Thank you for reading, as always. I would be horrified if she didn’t come home until 9! 5 was late enough!!

Leave a Reply

