#GUTGAA Meet & Greet

Hi! πŸ™‚ For those who don’t know, I’m participating in #GUTGAA, which as my twin @abswrites likes to say, is not a gross retching sound but a blog hop and contest for writers looking for agents. It does sound kinda like an unfortunate bowel disease. Alas, it’s actually very fun and positive! πŸ˜€ #GUTGAA stands for Gearing Up To Get An Agent. So if you’ve been following me, you know that’s exactly what I’ve been doing for longer than I’d like to admit. πŸ˜‰
If you’re visiting my blog for the first time, WELCOME! And here’s a little about me…I’m a 30-something single mom and a writer. I am a huge fan of New Kids on the Block and they actually inspired me to write my first book many moons ago when I was an angst-ridden teenager. But that’s a whole ‘nother blog post (this is where I would insert the link to that blog if I was tech-savvy at all, which I’m not) Anyhoo, I enjoy all types of music (except country) and constantly have music playing. This is why I’m addicted to Song Pop. I also enjoy coffee, long walks on the beach,road-tripping, reading, and of course, writing. Most of my books are thrillers. I’ve tried to write other genres but someone always ends up murdered or kidnapped. Guess that’s why they call me Twisted Writer. πŸ˜‰
I am looking forward to getting to know more Β #GUTGAA writers! πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy getting to know more about me.
Where do you write?Β Sometimes at the dining room table or on the couch. Β Lately, it’s more often in my bed late at night after everyone has gone to bed.
Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?Β Haha! The first thing I saw was the poster from the NKOTB Radio City shows in 2010. It’s funny that’s what I would see because I don’t often look at it but my first ever trip to New York City was in January 2010. I fell in love with NYC – it felt like home and I long to be there again. Perhaps even live there someday if I win the lottery or hey, become a best-selling author! πŸ˜‰ So anyway, the reason I bring up that story is that it was the day after the first trip to NYC when I came up with the idea for completely rewriting A SCARRED MIND, the novel I’m currently querying.
Favorite time to write?Β At night. I’ve been known to write in the morning but more often than not, inspiration hits after everyone else has gone to bed. In fact, the last scenes were written from 1:03 – 2:53 a.m. No wonder I’m not a morning person…
Drink of choice while writing?Β Diet Coke or water or both. On those rare occasions I write early in the morning, my inspiration drink is Dunkin Donuts French Vanilla or Pumpkin Spice coffee. Yum! (BTW who’s excited for Pumpkin Spice Lattes TOMORROW?!?! This girl.)
When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?Β As I stated earlier in my bio, I always have music going. I can write in complete silence but I much prefer music. It helps me to focus my thoughts and sometimes can inspire the tone of a scene.
What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?Β My latest WIP was inspired by an incredibly vivid dream. It’s also a dystopian story, which I have never tried writing before but I am very excited. I feel personally attached to the story in a way I never have before, possibly because I dreamed it from my main character’s point of view. It’s also my first novel written in first person so it’s a completely new experience all the way around. I also think it may be the best thing I’ve written.
What’s your most valuable writing tip?
Don’t give up! Keep reading and keep writing. Seems like simple advice but it’s often what I need to hear and what keeps me going. I recently decided to write something everyday, even if it’s just a sentence. I am happiest when I’m writing so I need to do it everyday. Even if I think I’m not inspired,the words may come if I just put fingertips to keyboard. πŸ™‚
29 thoughts on “#GUTGAA Meet & Greet

  1. The “don’t give up” advice is definitely worthwhile! I think at least once a week I start to talk myself out of making my writing dream come true. I try to remember small accomplishments — finishing an entire WIP (with an actual ending) is something to celebrate.

    Here’s my GUTGAA Meet & Greet: A Girl and Her Diary

    1. You are definitely right about that! I’ve been very discouraged lately and contemplated giving up almost daily. Not on writing because I couldn’t stop if I wanted to. But definitely on trying to get an agent. I am not quite ready to give up though and hope you won’t either.

    1. Thank you! It’s not for everyone but seems to be my niche. I don’t think I could write romance, for example, although I like reading the occasional romance. Someone would end up dead or in danger. Haha! I enjoyed your meet & greet too! This is fun. πŸ™‚

  2. You’re so right about not giving up – and it’s great to commit to writing at least a little each day. Sometimes that all you need to keep the momentum going. Good luck!! πŸ™‚

    1. New York was one of the best things that ever happened to me. πŸ™‚ Can’t believe I haven’t been back since 2010 though. I keep trying to find an excuse to go…. πŸ˜‰

      We are gonna get pumpkin wasted this month & next! WOO! πŸ˜€

  3. I think the best things come to us when we’re dreaming! I even stated in my Q&A that I dreamed about my story the first night after I started writing it. I’ve felt extremely attached ever since. I’ve also seen a lot of people mention dreams as their inspiration. Interesting, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    1. Yes it’s very interesting! I’m fascinated by dreams anyway & like trying to interpret them. With the book I’m querying, I often dreamed about what would happen in the story. A few times I didn’t want to write it but I kept dreaming the same thing until I wrote it. My character was trying to tell me what happened to him I think. πŸ˜‰

    1. Nice to meet you too! πŸ™‚ And YES PSL’s are back today! I unfortunately can’t get one yet because I live in the boonies of NC and am broke 😦 But soon, very soon, a PSL will be MINE!! Wah ha ha! (I’m a dork)

  4. Oh, NKOTB… that brings me back. They performed in our town on Halloween when I was about 10. I didn’t get tickets, and I swear to gawd I was the ONLY female trick-or-treater on the streets that year… it was a good haul! πŸ™‚ Nice to meet you!

  5. Love that lots of writers are inspired by dreams. My last book was dedicated to ‘nightmares and the creativity they inspire.’
    Good to meet you here on GUTGAA — stomach ailment πŸ™‚ sounds about right!

  6. I didn’t know New Kids on the Block were still around. Are they the same group? I haven’t even thought about them since maybe 4th grade.

    I’m very much a night owl too, though we’ve just switched our schedule earlier so my oldest can make it to preschool on time–and my brain screams in protest at the thought of making myself get to bed well before midnight so I can be up before him. *groan*

    Hi from a GUTGAA latecomer, and good luck!

    1. Hi πŸ™‚ Nice to meet you! Yes NKOTB reunited in2008. The past 4 years have been a blast!! They’re still together & have started working on a new album. πŸ˜€ truth be told they are better now than they ever were. I am def a night owl & it’s killing me to get up early to get my kindergartner off to school. Hopefully I can go back to sleep! So far this week I haven’t been able to. Best of luck to you! πŸ™‚

  7. Nice to meet you, Amy! I love the sound of Pumpkin Spice lattes – though I can’t say I’ve ever had one! 😦 I love it when it gets closer to Christmas as I am a huge fan of Gingerbread lattes! πŸ˜€

    1. OMG you’ve never had a Pumpkin Spice Latte?! You must try it if you get the chance! It’s heavenly. You are my sister’s CP πŸ™‚ nice to meet you! I haven’t tried the gingerbread latte but have heard great things about it. We live kinda far away from Starbucks so it’s a special treat when I go and I always end up getting Pumpkin Spice Lattes when in season. Otherwise I’m loyal to the Vanilla Latte. mmmmmmm Good stuff, folks.

Leave a Reply

