#GUTGAA Tag!

What fun! πŸ™‚ I’ve been tagged in the #GUTGAA tag so here are my answers:

-What is the working title of your book?

A SCARRED MIND

-Where did the idea for your book come from?

Originally, I had the idea while watching Psychic Investigators on the Bio channel. In case you’re not familiar, the show is about psychics helping the police. Sometimes it’s a missing kid or trying to find a killer. I noticed in every case, the psychic got involved after the crime had been committed. I thought, what if the psychic had a premonition of the murder and went to the police before it happened, to try to stop it? And A SCARRED MIND was born. Actually, it was originally a screenplay written in 2008. In that version, a teenager went missing, but was too close to a true story shown on the TV show. In January 2010, shortly after my first trip to New York City, I had the idea to up the stakes and make the story about murder, although Jake (my MC) still has a vision before it happens.

– Which genre does your book fall under?

Adult thriller.

– Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh. Heehee. I actually wrote this with a particular actor in mind to play the lead and will be unhappy with any other choice, IF this is ever made into a movie. My pick is more of a singer than an actor, although he has done some acting. Mr. Joseph McIntyre. Well, his professional name is Joey McIntyre. πŸ˜‰ He’s perfect for the role!

Image

– Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I did research into self-publishing and ultimately decided for me, traditional publishing would be best. Of course I may eventually self-publish if nothing works out but only after I’ve made damn sure I’ll never get an agent or sell this book.

– What is the one-sentence short synopsis of your book?

One sentence?? Gah. Okay here goes…

Jake Murphy never wanted anyone to know about his psychic ability but when he has a premonition of a stranger’s brutal murder, he must go to the police and try to stop a killer before the crime is committed.

– How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Well, as I stated earlier, the first draft was a screenplay in 2008, which took me a couple of months to finish. It was crap. Haha! πŸ˜€ This version, as a book, I started in January 2010 and finally finished a draft in October 2011. I have been revising & rewriting since then.

-What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I like to think readers of James Patterson, Tami Hoag and Harlan Coben (my personal favorites) would enjoy this book. So if you like those writers and want to read a book about a “regular guy” as the hero rather than a cop or FBI agent, you should like this. Jake also isn’t a typical psychic – he doesn’t read Tarot or look into a crystal ball and never wants his own cable TV show. He just wants to save this woman’s life, hopefully without anyone ever knowing he was involved. Personally, I’ve always wanted to read a book like this and I hope I’m not the only one. πŸ˜‰

Here are my tags for my fellow GUTGAA writers! Check out their blogs because they rock. πŸ™‚

@wjk8099Β – Wendy Knight –Β Β http://www.writethroughthenoise.blogspot.com

@AngelinaCHansen –Β http://yascribe.blogspot.com

@agwickedspirits – Amanda Gardner –Β http://otherawesomewords.blogspot.com

TAG!!! YOU ARE IT!!!!

20120908-101604.jpg

6 thoughts on “#GUTGAA Tag!

  1. Hi Amy. I just wanted to stop by and thank you for commenting on my entry on GUTGAA–RACE TO BUTCH CASSIDY’S GOLD. What you wrote was totally helpful and I’m going to change it using your suggestions.
    Best of luck with your book!
    Oh, and Joe was always my favorite! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

