A to Z Book Survey

I totally stole this from Julie Sondra Decker. Check out her answers, too, because she’s super cool. Here are mine:

Author You’ve Read The Most Books From

Dean Koontz. I’d say I’ve read 90 % of his books. He’s my writing mentor and one of the reasons I wanted to become a writer.

Best Sequel Ever

The Two Towers by JRR Tolkien. That’s what popped in my head anyway. 😉

Currently Reading

The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler, The Innocent by Harlan Coben and 11/22/63 by Stephen King

Drink of Choice While Reading

Coffee, Diet Coke or water

E-reader or physical book?

Physical books. E-books are great but after looking at a computer and phone screen most of the day, I prefer the *real* books.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School

Peeta Mellark in The Hunger Games – something about him really appeals to me.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance

The Harry Potter series! When I first heard about them, I thought there was no way I would enjoy it but it ended up my favorite book series ever. The movie version of Prisoner of Azkaban is what made me finally want to read them. By the time The Deathly Hallows was released, I had my own wand. I was in my early thirties. LOL

Hidden Gem Book

New Kids on the Block: Five Brothers and a Million Sisters 
by Nikki Van Noy. It’s the nonfiction story of the best group in the world in my biased opinion. I was almost a part of the book and wish I had written it. I call it a hidden gem because I know only NKOTB fans (Blockheads) are going to read it. I wish that more people would because they would find out how wrong their misconceptions are. And honestly, New Kids have a really great story. They weren’t a manufactured boy band like most people think. Go read it for yourself and see how great they are. 😀

Important Moment in Your Reading Life

When I discovered Harlan Coben. I can’t even remember which book of his I read first. I discovered him in 2012 and realized my writing style is very similar. If his books could be worldwide best sellers and I write the same way, couldn’t mine? I like to think so.

Just Finished

Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read

Harlequin-type romances with six-pack abs on the cover. No disrespect to those who write and read those books but I just can’t.

Longest Book You’ve Read

Probably the unabridged version of The Stand by Stephen King. It’s about 1200 pages. (My answer is the same as Julie’s)

Major Book Hangover Because of

Six Years by Harlan Coben I really enjoyed the voice of Jake and didn’t want it to end.

Number of Bookcases You Own

Including my daughter’s three.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times

Twilight Eyes by Dean Koontz

Preferred Place to Read

On the couch with my feet up.

Quote That Inspires You

dreams

Reading Regret

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting. I’ve never been so excited by a premise only to be bitterly disappointed and want to choke the MC by page 50. Sorry, I hate to bash any book but UGH.

Series You Started and Need to Finish
 (Completed Series Only)

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I started reading the second book, City of Ashes and was disappointed it didn’t hook me right away like City of Bones did.

Three of Your All Time Favorite Books

Twilight Eyes by Dean Koontz, Deeper Than the Dead by Tami Hoag and Going Home Again by Abby Cavenaugh (OF COURSE!)

Unapologetic Fangirl Filthy Stalker Of

New Kids on the Block 😀 Oh. You meant an author, right? Probably Dean Koontz and Harlan Coben. Harlan Coben favorited one of my tweets recently and I nearly soiled myself.

Very Excited for This Release More Than All the Others

Is it selfish to say my own book? Because other than that, I’m not sure. Dr. Sleep but it’s already out. I’m very excited for the day when I can get my copy. 🙂

Worst Bookish Habit

Reading so many books at the same time so that I don’t finish any of them within a reasonable amount of time.

X Marks the Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book

Fear Nothing by Dean Koontz. Shocker it’s a Koontz book! 😉

Your Latest Book Purchase

I bought School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins for my daughter’s birthday. I kinda wanted to read it myself. Hope she likes it.

ZZZ-Snatcher Book (last one that kept you up way too late)

Six Years by Harlan Coben. It’s obvious I loved that book, huh?

Be cool like Julie and I and go take the A to Z Book Survey! 🙂 Can’t wait to see your answers!

8 thoughts on “A to Z Book Survey

  1. I like Peeta pretty well too and a lot of people hate on him. I liked him in the series.

    I haven’t read Harlan Coben–what should I start with? I was kinda disturbed to find out my writing process is almost identical to Stephen King’s (though our subject matter is very different). It’s neat to find someone out there who writes in a way you understand–you hear the wheels turning.

    1. I don’t understand the Peeta hate! I love him 🙂

      Hey, if your writing process is like Stephen King’s then you must be pretty awesome. 😀 As for Harlan Coben, he has a YA series (2 books in so far) that I really liked. That might be a good place to start. The MC is the nephew of one of his more beloved characters but you don’t have to know the uncle’s story to enjoy the YA book. It’s called Shelter. I also highly recommend Six Years, No Second Chance and Tell No One. I think Tell No One might’ve been the first one I read. I hope you like him! He’s a thriller writer, by the way. 🙂

      1. Ah, I’m not really much of a thriller reader, though I, uh, guess I would still like being thrilled? Hehe.

        My writing process is similar to Stephen King’s in that we’re both kind of archaeological writers, as he describes it in his writing craft book. He digs somewhere that seems like it would be good, but doesn’t have much of an idea of what he’s gonna find. I’m like that. And he said you get to choose the tools you go on that dig with–you can go in with a bulldozer, a shovel, a trowel, or a toothbrush. I think we’re both fond of the toothbrush. Would explain why our word counts are both ridiculous. :X

  2. Julie, it won’t let me reply to your reply so I’m down here. 😉 If thrillers aren’t for you, that’s cool too. 🙂 I LOVE On Writing and it basically changed my life so I love that you do that, too.

    1. I adore this quiz! I am going to steal and use on my blog. It’s amazing to hear what other writers love reading. Gives me some new reading material ideas!

Leave a Reply

