Pitch Madness

I decided to participate in #PitMad today since I didn’t make the agent round of Pitch Madness. I’ve read it’s a good idea to post your full pitch and an excerpt of your book so here ya go! Feedback is welcome! But please be nice 🙂

Pitch: Jake usually hides his psychic ability but when visions of kidnapped women and murder begin to haunt him, his gift may be the only way to stop a brutal serial killer.

A little more than 250 words but here’s the excerpt:

When the guy with the scar slammed into me on the street, I didn’t even need to look at him to know he was a killer.

Our chests collided with a humph. I stumbled backward and would’ve fallen on my ass if he hadn’t grabbed my arm. As soon as his hand encircled my wrist, chills snaked up to my shoulder despite my leather jacket.

As if a movie screen projected across my vision, he leered over me, his lips curled into a snarl, eyes on fire with rage as he drew back with a knife. A woman’s scream echoed through my skull.

I jerked away with a gasp.

“Whoa,” he said with a chuckle. “Sorry, fella. You okay?”

I couldn’t find my voice. The man in front of me was like Dr. Jekyll to the Mr. Hyde I’d just seen. Although smiling, no warmth reached his eyes. Brown and flat, they brought to mind a frozen mud puddle. With dark hair and a goatee, dressed in a cardigan and jeans, he could’ve been a teacher or a theater director.

The scar, a thin inch-long slash under his right eye, would only be noticeable this close. It looked like a knife wound, but could’ve been from a car accident.

Nothing about his look would have said “killer” to anyone else. I can see beyond appearances.

His smile faltered. “Hey, are you okay?”

I tried to tell myself the psychic signal got mixed up with someone watching a TV crime drama. 

Forcing a smile, I said, “Fine. I’m fine.” I readjusted the messenger bag on my shoulder, the laptop computer inside bouncing off my hip. “Sorry I ran into you. I wasn’t watching where I was going. Lost in thought, you know.”

He looked me up and down, chewed on the inside of his cheek and shrugged. “No harm done.”

Not for you at least.

Leave a Reply

