Quick Query Update

Good morning!ย ๐Ÿ™‚ For those who wanted an update on my previous blog about querying agents for my book, I got my first rejection this morning.ย ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s okay, though, because I expected rejection. It was a form rejection and I kinda wish it had been personalized so I could know for sure why she didn’t request to read a partial or the full manuscript. That said, I also understand how busy agents are and I know they literally get hundreds of queries a day. It’s going to be very difficult to stand out. A very daunting process!

In total, I sent out four queries Thursday and Friday. Some of them I may not even get the courtesy of a rejection letter and never hear anything back. That’s okay, too, I guess because then I’ll know I wouldn’t have wanted to work with them anyway.ย ๐Ÿ˜€ I won’t obsess about this rejection, even though I like and respect this particular agent very much. I need to accept and remember that if it was meant to be, she would have requested the material. I will keep working on my craft and continue to query until the I find the right agent for me. Onward & upward!

PS – I’d like to give a shoutout to the Block Nation for their unwavering support. People I don’t know have responded to my blogs on nkotb.com with good luck wishes and “Don’t give up” encouragement. Even if they’re responding just to accumulate points in the new point system, it still touches me that they’re taking the time to spread positivity. And encouragement is encouragement no matter how you look at it. I’m making some awesome new friends as a result and I couldn’t be happier. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you Blockheads!

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Query Update

  1. I love that you are staying positive because I know firsthand how discouraging the rejections can be. When you find the right agent, it’ll all work out. And I know you will because it’s an awesome book!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yes, stay positive, Amy!! When you try hard, someone answers you and that is your right agent! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m praying for you!

Leave a Reply

