I have news!

Hello friends πŸ™‚ I haven’t written a blog post in a while and I apologize for that. I have busied myself with MAJOR edits to my WIP and querying agents. Unfortunately, not much writing has gone on. I tend to get on rolls lately when I go on writing sprees and churn out ten pages at the time, then … nothing for days. Sigh. I’ve got to better discipline myself, I suppose. But I have also learned I can’t force myself to write. It has to happen organically. When the inspiration comes, I’m at my happiest. I hope to get back to that place very soon.
Alas, I actually have news! You may have seen me tweet about it but last week, I won a query critique contest, put on by the fabulous KT Hanna. I am tech-challenged but I’m going to try to repost her post here: http://www.kthanna.com/2012/07/the-winner-of-the-query-critique-is/Β This was a huge opportunity for me and I am extremely grateful. For those who don’t know, a query critique means KT’s agent, the awesomely cool Judith Engracia, reads and evaluates my query letter. Well, I received her critique last night and she gave me amazing feedback. I have previously documented in my blog how frustrated I’ve been with the querying process and that was mostly because query letters suck. They are so hard to write. You have to encapsulate your entire story in two or three paragraphs and somehow make it as interesting as (you hope) your manuscript is. It’s also daunting to receive rejection after rejection. None of the rejections offered feedback so I didn’t know what I was doing wrong. Now, thanks to Judith, I know and I think/hope/pray I can fix it and maybe the offers will start rolling in. Well, a girl can dream. I’m very good at that.
In other writing news, I also recently cut about 5k words from my manuscript, something I wouldn’t have thought possible. The first completed draft of A SCARRED MIND was 113k words. I am now proud to report it is at 97700. All those words cut without losing any of the story. Just goes to show you can do anything you set your mind to. I think it now may finally be ready, as perfect as it’s going to get. Oh, who am I kidding? I will probably edit out even more words next time I reread it. A writer never really completes a manuscript. We kinda give up, send it out into the world and hope for the best. Probably every one of us thinks of something we could have made better as soon as we hit the “Send” button.
So in more awesomeness (I saved the best for last): yesterday if you saw my Twitter feed you know that I also got a full manuscript request. !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ This is my first and I am so excited. I don’t expect an offer from the first full request because that would be the most incredible thing that ever happened. I do think she may be the most awesome agent who ever lived (perhaps I’m biased) so I hope for it but trying to keep my expectations low. Mostly I look forward to receiving feedback from a real live agent. I will keep this blog more updated in the coming weeks. So happy that I finally have news to report. Thank you to all who have supported me and my writing. It means more to me than you may know. Publishing a novel has been my dream most of my life. Here’s hoping you see my book in Barnes & Noble and can say, “Hey, I read her blog about this.” πŸ˜‰ xoxo

2 thoughts on “I have news!

  1. Yay, Amy!! Congrats!!! πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you!
    I think this is a big step to your dream!
    I’m looking forward to hearing your next news! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

